• Route: Sierra
  • Ride Year: 2021
  • Hometown: Austin, TX
  • School Year: Senior
  • Major: Psychology

About: Hey y'all!

I'm a fourth year Psych major here at the University of Texas. I plan to attend law school after I achieve my undergraduate degree. While I was born in Pennsylvania, I've lived here in Austin for over 15 years and consider it to be my hometown. I'm excited to do what I can with Texas 4000 to raise money and spread awareness in the fight against cancer, and can't wait to meet people along my summer ride!

Why I Ride

I never got the opportunity to meet my grandfather. Cancer took that away from me, but it also took so much more. It took away a husband, a father to four children, a brother, and a 40 year old man’s ability to ever see his grandchildren.

My grandfather did everything right when it came to his health, and all of it meant nothing when he was diagnosed with sarcoma. He had the best treatment that was available at the time, and at one point was even declared cancer free, only to find out later that his soft tissue sarcoma had come back and spread to other parts of the body, meaning that he would be diagnosed with Stage IV Sarcoma.

After speaking with my mother and grandmother, I’ve gained some perspective of how helpless and hopeless someone can feel when their loved one is battling cancer. My mother told me the cruelest part is the fact that you know there is nothing you can do as you watch someone you care for so deeply do all they can and it still not being enough.

While my family’s situation has been unfortunate, I’ve also come to realize while being a part of Texas 4000 that situations like mine as well as those that are even worse affect so many people in such heartbreaking and devastating ways. This has led me to be even more motivated when it comes to fundraising for T4K, as this truly is an extraordinary opportunity for me to make a difference, and I won’t take it for granted.