About Me


  • Route: Sierra
  • Ride Year: 2017
  • Hometown: Cypress, TX

About: I'm a first year Chemistry and Mathematics major at UT Austin. I grew up in Cypress, TX with my mom, dad, and two younger siblings. My mom is my biggest fan, and my dad is my biggest supporter. I wouldn't be who I am today without their influence. They mean everything to me, and I visit home as often as I can.

In my spare time, I like to eat Thai food...or any kind of food, really, and I try to read as much as I can. I spend probably about 50% of my money on coffee and the other 50% goes toward scented candles. I feel strongly about inclusion for people with disabilities, and I can't stand the 'R' word. I'm the kind of person who will stop you (no matter where we are) to pet your dog, and my socks are almost always mismatched.

Why I Ride

I ride because I've seen what cancer can do. Although I've been lucky enough to not have an immediate family member be affected by the disease, I spend time during the holidays at MD Anderson Cancer Center observing a surgeon.

During my time there, I've witnessed firsthand the damage that cancer can do, not only to someone's body, but to their family and the people they love. I've learned that cancer doesn't simply strip people of their health and strength. It strips people of hope.

That's why I was so drawn to Texas4000. One of the main points of our mission is to spread hope to those who have been affected or have loved ones who have been affected by cancer.